Pic Saint Loup, Hérault, France

Pic Saint Loup, Hérault, France
Le pic Saint-Loup est une montagne située dans le département de l’Hérault, en Languedoc-Roussillon (France). Du haut de sa crête (658m), le pic Saint-Loup domine le monde des garrigues de l’Hérault. Une grande croix de fer, un poste d’observation ainsi que la chapelle d’un ancien ermitage, vous attendent à son sommet. Entre Cévennes et mer Méditerranée, à environ 20 km au nord de Montpellier, le pic est visible d’une grande partie du département de l’Hérault et du Gard, et même …

Château de Viviourès, Hérault, France

Château de Viviourès, Hérault, France
Le Château de Viviourès, aussi connu sous le nom du Château de la Roquette, se situe dans le département de l’Hérault, dans le sud de la France. Bâti sur la montagne de l’Hortus, entre les villages de Valflaunès et de Saint-Martin-de-Londres, à 25 km de Montpellier. Il fait face au Pic Saint-Loup, et est entouré d’un paysage de garrigue, avec ses chênes et ses roches calcaires. Le château de Viviourès servit autrefois de place forte mais également d’habitation. Les premières …

Château de Montferrand – Hérault

Château de Montferrand – Hérault
Le château de Montferrand est une forteresse médiévale du XIIe siècle, située sur le territoire de la commune de Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers, dans le département de l’Hérault, à 25 Km au nord de Montpellier. Accessible seulement à pied (par le GR 60), le château de Montferrand est construit sur un éperon calcaire de l’arête Est du pic Saint-Loup (658m). Le château est situé face à l’Hortus, dans un paysage romantique de garrigue à chêne vert, attirant pour les dessinateurs du XVllle et …

Pic Saint Loup, France, Hérault

Pic Saint Loup, France, Hérault
The Saint-Loup Peak (Pic Saint-Loup) is a mountain located in the department of Hérault, in Languedoc-Roussillon (France). From its peak (658m), the Pic Saint-Loup dominates the scrublands of Herault. A large iron cross, an observation point and as well, a chapel from a former hermitage await you at the top. Between the Cevennes and the Mediterranean Sea, about 20 km north of Montpellier, the peak is visible from much of the department of Herault and Gard, and even from the …

Vivioures Castle, Herault, France

Vivioures Castle, Herault, France
Viviourès Castle, also known as the Roquette Castle (Château de la Roquette) is located in the department of Herault, in the south of France. Built on the Hortus mountain, between the villages of Valflaunès and Saint-Martin-de-Londres, 25 km from Montpellier. It faces the Pic Saint-Loup, and is surrounded by a landscape of scrub (garrigue), with its oak and limestone. The Viviourès Castle once served as a fortress but also a place to live. The first mention of the castle date …

Montferrand Castle – Herault – France

Montferrand Castle – Herault – France
Montferrand Castle is a medieval fortress from the twelfth century, situated on the territory of the municipality of Saint-Mathieu-de-Tréviers in the department of Herault, 25 km North of Montpellier. Accessible only on foot (by GR 60), the castle of Montferrand is built on a limestone spur of the ridge East of the Pic Saint-Loup (658m). The castle is located opposite the Hortus in a romantic landscape of scrubland oak (garrigue), attracting drawing artists of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, then …